For over 25 years, the Federal Criminal Law Committee for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania (operating initially as the Federal Bar Association, Criminal Law Committee, Philadelphia Chapter) has been dedicated to addressing issues concerning criminal defense in the federal courts. The Committee’s mission is to facilitate the fair, speedy and effective administration of criminal justice.

Membership and Governance

The Committee was established in 1988, and is composed of members of the criminal defense bar, federal prosecutors and members of the federal judiciary. Attorneys may become members upon payment of applicable dues; members of the judiciary are exempt from payment of dues.

The Committee is governed by its Officers and Executive Committee. The Officers consist of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer, who are elected for one-year terms by the full membership. Executive Committee members are appointed by the Chair of the Committee.

A copy of the Committee’s By-Laws may be found by clicking on this link:

View/download the Committee’s By-Laws (PDF)

The Committee is an unincorporated volunteer bar group in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania that holds a bi-annual event celebrating the Bill of Rights and presents CLE seminars in Philadelphia. The Committee seeks to accredit its CLE seminars only in Pennsylvania.

Brief History

In 1985, Stanley Weinberg, then Vice-Chairman of the Philadelphia Chapter of the Federal Bar Association asked Luther Weaver and Stan Shmukler to co-chair a seminar on the recently enacted Comprehensive Crime Control Act of 1984. That seminar was so successful that in 1988, when Weinberg became President of the Philadelphia Chapter, he requested that Stan Shmukler and Howard B. Klein create a Criminal Law Committee of the Philadelphia Chapter. The resulting establishment of the Committee in 1988 was publicized in the Legal Intelligencer.

Since that date, the Committee has become an established and important part of Philadelphia’s legal community. In nearly 25 years of its existence, the Committee has hosted innumerable continuing legal education seminars and events featuring prominent members of the defense bar, federal prosecutors, United States Probation Officers, Bureau of Prisons officials and federal judges at all levels speaking to legal issues relating to the administration of criminal justice in the federal courts. The Committee has issued reports and taken public positions on policy issues regarding criminal law. Since 1991, the Committee has held in even numbered years the Clifford Scott Green Bill of Rights Award Dinner to recognize a member of the bar for truly outstanding fidelity and service to the principles contained in the Bill of Rights.

Membership in the Committee

To become a member of the Committee, create an account on this website, and then pay the annual dues of $25.00 as indicated.


Executive Committee

Past Awards: Clifford Scott Green Bill of Rights Dinner

Peter Goldberger
David Rudovsky
The Honorable Louis H. Pollak
Marsha Levick and Juvenile Law Center
Guantanamo Lawyers
Honorable John P. Fullam
John Rogers Carroll
Angus Love and Pennsylvania Institutional Law Project
Robert Dunham and Bill Nolas, Capital Case Resource Center
Thomas Colas Carroll
Honorable Clifford Scott Green
Philadelphia Federal Defender’s Office
Honorable Norma L. Shapiro
Honorable Joseph S. Lord, III

Past Chairs of the Committee

Mariana Rossman
Ronald H. Levine
Patrick J. Egan
Robert DeLuca
Jeffrey M. Lindy
Richard Meltzer
Lynanne B. Wescott
Burton A. Rose
Bruce A. Franzel
James Becker
Howard B. Klein
Stanford Shmuckler